Skip to content ↓


The Governing Board

Our school Governing Board has 12 voting members:

a)     The Headteacher, Pippa Brand Benee, as of right;

b)      2 parents elected by their fellow parents *Elections are currently being held for this post

c)     1 appointed by the Local Education Authority (Bucks Council), Alan Sherwell [Chair]

d)     1 staff member (elected by all employees of the school) *Elections are currently being held for this post.

    7 Co-opted (appointed by the members of the Governing Board at the time of co-option),

Saad Ahmad (Vice Chair Resources), Kate Burrell, Patricia Gurton [Vice Chair, outcomes], Shevron Reid, Martin Simpson, Rebecca Smith, Kim Bourke Smith, Dr Bashak Onal and Gurinder Wadhwa.

Aside from the Head, all Governors have a 4 year term of office but are free to step down at any time.Vacancies arise from time to time. Those for Parent and Staff Governors will be advertised directly to the people who are eligible to stand for those posts. Co-opted members are appointed by the Board.  Anyone, including staff or parents, who can contribute to the work of the GB may be co-opted (although there is a limit to the total number of Governors who can work for the school). Anyone who wants to find out more about this role should contact the school office in the first instance. If you are interested, please let us know, even  when there are not any current vacancies.  The GB can also appoint (non-voting) Associate Members to help with its work – however, we have chosen not to do so at this time. 

The Governing Board sets the overall strategic direction of the school including its budget and reviews the performance of our pupils and progress against that budget and the school development plan.

The Board conducts the majority of its work at Board level (ie only with those committees that it is legally obliged to have so that all Governors have a full knowledge of all the issues currently affecting the school. 

Thomas Hickman School Governor Information And Meeting Attendance For

1 March 2021– 28 February 2022

Y = Attended, A = Apologies Accepted, NA = Apologies not Accepted, Blank = No Apologies sent, Shaded – Governor not in post or not a committee member therefore not expected to attend.

All 4-year terms with the exception of the Headteacher (10 years).


Constitution – Total 12 Governors

  • 7 Co-opted – appointed by the Board

  • 2 Parent – elected by parents

  • 1 Local Authority Appointed

  • 1 Staff – elected by the staff.

  • Headteacher



 BV- British Values

Cur – Curriculum

Fin - Finance

H&S – Health and Safety

PM – Performance Management Reviewers for the Headteacher

PSHE – Physical, Social, Health and Emotional wellbeing

SEND – Special Educational Needs and Disability

SMSC – Spiritual, Moral, Social and Cultural

SR – Safer Recruitment trained

The Governing Body must, as soon as reasonably practicable, make available for inspection by any interested person a copy of;

(a) the agenda for every committee meeting;

(b) the signed minutes of every such meeting; and

(c) any report or other paper considered at any such meeting.

Should you wish to view any of these documents, please make your request via email to